Sharing files on Samepage can be done in 3 ways. Each way has its own unique advantages.
1. Chat attachments
Direct messaging, group messaging, and team chats all support attachments in Samepage. This style is great for easily sharing small files that don't need to be accessed repeatedly.
2. Team FILES section
Perfect for sharing larger files that are accessed regularly. Files in a team's FILES section 1 can be synchronized to desktop computers 2 so they can be edited offline and changes can be synced with the team automatically (Samepage Desktop App required). This section supports file version history as well 3.
2a. Synchronizing team files
By using the "Sync to computer" feature in a team's FILES section, all files and folders in the section will be copied to your local hard drive. If multiple team members synchronize a team's FILES to their computers, a saved change to a synchronized file on one person's computer will automatically update other users' local copies. Although users will only see the latest version of a file on their hard drives, Samepage provides users with access to all previous versions of a file in the FILES section. New versions of a file are added to the file's history automatically each time a change is saved. To learn more, please visit this help article.
3. Page files
Files can be dragged and dropped onto a page or embedded from other file-sharing services such as Dropbox and Google Drive. This style of file sharing is useful when using a page as a project headquarters because it supports having comments attached to the files 1 and allows them to be surrounded by other relevant project content such as tasks, text, etc.
Files on pages can be edited in place if you're using the Samepage Desktop App. If one team member is in the middle of editing a file when another user tries to do the same, the second user will see a message that the file is currently locked for editing by the first user. Through page history, this type of file sharing also supports file version history. Each time a file on a page is changed, the old version becomes a part of the page history while the new version takes its place on the page automatically.