Install our award-winning mobile app for free!

Install our award-winning mobile app for free!

Working with Files on a Page

Help Center > Articles > Working with Files

Overview

Opening and Editing Files

Uploading New File Version

Working with a Locked File

File Versioning


Overview

By uploading and storing files to Samepage, you can:

  • Access files anywhere, whether on desktop, web, or mobile.
  • See and download previously saved revisions of a single file. Easily revert to a previous file if needed.
  • Edit and save your file without having to upload a new version each time you revise it.
  • Preview files without downloading. Simply click the file to preview it.

Quick Tip: Manage your file with a right-click – from here, you can preview, download, open, rename, or remove the file.


Opening and Editing Files

You have two options for working with files on Samepage:

  • Download - downloads the file locally to your computer. To download a file, simply click the file and select Download.
  • Direct File Editing (Open In) - opens the file in its native application. This allows you to edit and save the file back to Samepage.

Note: You must be on the Samepage desktop app to use the direct file editing feature.


To Use Direct File Editing: 

  1. Click on the desired file and select Open In [app].
  2. Make changes to your file.
  3. Click Save, then close the file. You'll receive a push notification that your file was successfully uploaded to Samepage.

Uploading New File Version

To replace an outdated or existing file on Samepage:

Hover over the 4-bubble menu next to your file. From the 3-dots, select "Upload New Version," then add your new file.


Working with a "Locked" File

If you try to open a file that is currently open by another user, you will receive a "File Locked" message:

You have the option to wait (or ask!) the other user to close the file.

Or, you can select Edit Anyway. Any changes you make will result in another version of the file. Samepage will display the most recently saved file on the page, and keep all previously saved file versions in History.

If the file has been closed but you are still receiving a "File Locked" message, be sure to check out the troubleshooting article

 

File Versioning

To access previous file revisions:

  1. On the 3-dot menu next to the page name, select History.
  2. Click the highlighter icon next to the file.

The timeline will show you every saved file revision. From here, you can click on any of the previous file versions and download it to your computer.

We recommend you rename the file after downloading to avoid any confusion.

Search All Help Articles

Related Help Articles

More articles...

Popular Help Articles

More articles...

Recent Help Articles

More articles...

Can't find what you need? Contact us.