For best results, please use the Samepage Desktop App on computers. For mobile devices, please use the Samepage iOS or Android app. All apps are available here.
Samepage must be able to find a microphone in order to join an audio or video call. If you have a microphone and do not want Samepage to use it, please use the mute button in Samepage call panel.
If you have a camera and disable it with the camera icon in the Samepage call panel, it may seem as if Samepage is still accessing your camera. Rest assured, if you turn your camera off in Samepage, it will not stream any content.
For the very first call that you have in Samepage there should have been a dialog asking if Samepage could access your camera and microphone. You need to say "Yes" to this dialog so that we have permission to access your camera and microphone. Samepage needs to at least have access to your microphone for you to initiate or join a call. You can also verify that Samepage has access by going to system preferences ---> security & privacy ---> camera and then also check the microphone.
Check to see if other apps have hijacked the camera or microphone, you can try unchecking them to see if that has an impact.
If you have verified that your system has access to the camera and microphone, as stated above, then check the options in the settings menu in the call panel during an active call. The microphone is how others hear you and the audio output is how you hear others. If you have other options in the drop down menu for microphone try changing the selection.
You can also try using a different app, i.e. if you are using the web app, try the desktop app instead.
If these steps do not work, all users should restart their Samepage app and try the call again.
Recently FireFox blocks access to the camera and microphone, even after you have allowed Samepage to access the camera and the microphone.
Try using the desktop app or Google Chrome instead.
Samepage can access an 'internal camera' used for screen sharing on most computers. The internal camera is not the same as the camera that allows others to see you. The camera designed for transmitting live video can be enabled or disabled in the Samepage call panel.
This error is shown most commonly in case the camera or microphone is in use or being hijacked by another app. Please check your running apps and see if there are any other apps that could use the camera or microphone. Here is an online article on how to find out what apps have access to your camera and microphone: wired.com/story/how-to-check-app-permissions-ios-android-macos-windows
If you accept or initiate a call via your mobile device the system will automatically default to an audio call. At this time we are not accessing your camera nor enabling the video feed.
If you wish to share your screen during an audio/video call then you must use our Samepage desktop app. If you are using the desktop app and you cannot share your screen then you will need to examine your device and locate other apps that may have hijacked your camera or are blocking other apps from accessing your camera. You may have browser extensions or apps like CloudApp - https://app.cl.ly/ that block other apps from accessing your camera, making the screen sharing difficult. Here is an online article on how to find out what apps have access to your camera and microphone wired.com/story/how-to-check-app-permissions-ios-android-macos-windows
The browser that you have chosen is either too old or it does not support the tool that we use for our video conferencing. You will need to change to a browser that supports WebRTC conferencing or switch to our desktop app.
If we can detect that your device has a camera, we continually try accessing it even if you have the camera disabled in the Samepage call panel. This would be the reason for the constant connecting state that you are seeing. To resolve this you must give our app access to your camera. Please see the attached screenshots for how to do this on Windows and Mac:
To enable your microphone on Android devices, please take a look at this article.
The ringing only occurs when you are calling someone in a 1:1 direct message, and this is so that person knows that someone is calling them directly. In team chat, page chat and group chats you will only see the system message posting that a call was started (or ended). We recommend that users either post a message in team or page chat using the @mention feature to notify users that a call is taking place, or create an event for the call and provide the location information in that event and add the users to the event as participants. You may also click the "Add call participants" button to invite a specific person to an ongoing group call. In this case, the invited user will hear the ringtone.
If you click on the audio call then your camera will default to being disabled and the system will show each users avatar in the call panel. This is so each member in the call knows who is participating in that call. To enable your camera to initiate the video feed simply click on the camera icon in the call panel.