Desktop app? Yes please!

The Samepage Desktop App for makes it even easier to hop into Samepage. One click and you're in. Plus, it'll help you synchronize your team files to your computer for easy updating and offline access.

Samepage iOS App

Sign your team up for free with our iOS app!

Samepage Android App

Sign your team up for free with our Android app!

File Synchronization Best Practices

Help Center > Articles > Files

Here are some basic rules of thumb on how best to use the Team File synchronization feature in Samepage...

  1. You must download and use our desktop app in order to access the Team File synchronization feature
  2. The sync happens as long as you are logged in to our desktop app so you don't need to have the app open on your computer, just do not logout and quit the desktop app
  3. If you do logout and quit the desktop app then the sync stops and all of the local files and folders are removed (image 1 shows when user is logged out and the desktop app was quit, image 2 shows when user is logged in and the desktop app is syncing). But, whenever you come back, login, and open the desktop app the sync needs to start all over again, and if you have a large number of files and/or the file sizes are large then the synchronization can take time
    Sync files to your hard drive
    Sync files to your hard drive
  4. You only need to click the Sync to Computer button one time, there is no need to turn it off and on. If/when that does happen it can create other unforeseen issues like the SyncedFolderName(2) folders.
  5. It's always best to add new files to Team Files in Samepage and allow the app to sync them down to the local computer -- the advantage to this is that other users have access to those files immediately (this is especially true if the files are large where the sync can take time)
  6. When having multiple editors on files that are frequently accessed it is best to use the OpenIn feature through Team Files or on Team pages. The advantage here is if another user tries to open that same file they will receive a message saying that the file is already being edited and is therefore currently locked.
    File is locked
  7. If a user has already closed a file but another user continues to see that locked file message then the original user just needs to go in, open the file through the OpenIn feature, choose edit anyway,  do not make any edits, and save and close it to release the lock on the file. Here is a help article about how to resolve a locked file https://www.samepage.io/help/articles/troubleshooting/getting-file-locked-message
  8. If you see the locked file message and you click to edit it anyway then you are creating a new version of that file. The file on our side is then "forked", creating two separate versions, and you will need to manually merge them back to one version later on
  9. Always click to save and close a file when you are done editing it. The save and close event is the trigger that tells our system you are done editing and for us to begin the sync and upload
  10. NEVER use the OpenIn feature and then use the Save As to save the file as a new file. The app is not watching for the new file and so it will not upload it, it is only watching the original one that was open via the OpenIn. If the new file is saved to the sync folder then eventually it will sync to Samepage but that that will only be when the app next scans that folder and locates the file as a new file.
  11. REMEMBER: when files are synced locally whatever you do to those files locally affects those same files in the cloud, in Samepage, and on every other device that has that same set of files synced. Namely, if you delete a file locally it will be deleted EVERYWHERE, from the cloud, from Samepage and from all other devices that have that same set of files synced
  12. If you do see SyncedFolderName and SyncedFolderName(2) folders on your computer -- do not panic -- it just means that the sync was interrupted or turned off for a period of time, and rather than deleting the original content we simply created another folder, named it SyncedFolderName(2) and begin to sync the files to the SyncedFolderName(2) folder so that you would have a clean set of files to work with
  13. If you want to resolve the SyncedFolderName(2) folder then you will want to turn the sync off and then wait for all files and folders, including the SyncedFolderName(2), to be removed locally. This will leave only the original SyncedFolderName on your local computer. At this time you can remove the remaining folder, SyncedFolderName, or move that folder to a different place on your computer for safe keeping. Once SyncedFolderName has been deleted or moved then you can turn the sync back on again. The sync folder should reappear with no (2) at the end.

Search All Help Articles

Related Help Articles

More articles...

Popular Help Articles

More articles...

Recent Help Articles

More articles...

Can't find what you need? Contact us.

First Name (required)

Last Name (required)

Email address (required)

Country (required)

Phone number

What's this about? (required)

Message

CREATE HELP TICKET

Sending...